Finding New Favourite Places

I’ve lived in north Cornwall for coming up for 5 years in March 2016, but I haven’t really properly investigated my local town or much of the countryside or coast around north Devon and Cornwall. I wanted to love the place, but I haven’t enjoyed being here nearly as much as I thought I would. But I know it is one of the most beautiful places in the world, and I’m incredibly lucky to be here, so I want to learn to fall in love with where I live.

I’m a city girl who has found the learning curve of the cultural shift from city to the countryside and a country town a big challenge, and I haven’t got settled at all.

So this year, one of my New Year’s Resolutions will be to thoroughly investigate all the best things about Devon and Cornwall in general and Bude in particular, and discover some new favourite places. To keep myself to this fun resolution, I thought that I could use the accountability of posting reviews, and it might be a fun record of my discoveries.

I will aim to post at least once a week, but since I have other blogs, I can forewarn you that it might be somewhat erratic. But I’ll do my best. I didn’t get a new camera or phone for Christmas, sadly, but I’ll do my best to try and get some good snaps to post, and a better camera/ phone is top of my list of things to buy for myself when I can.

So I hope anyone reading has had a great Christmas, and I wish you all a very happy and productive new year.

Over to you:

I would love to hear from anybody with local knowledge with recommendations of places to visit.

What are your new year’s resolutions?

3 thoughts on “Finding New Favourite Places

  1. I’ve lived here since May 2015, so still have lots to explore. I can recommend a walk along the canal, along the coast path to Widemouth Bay or up the beach at low tide to Sandymouth and back over the cliffs. Watch the waves from behind the breakwater, and see the sun set over the sea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

